Reverse foot lock and rig testing

The ultimate pain n the backside so far for me in Maya has been rigging. Rigging is essentially the process of giving skeleton and joints to your mesh and allowing it to move, much in the same way a marionette does.
although some rigs can be simple and tend to share common structures (in a humanoid characters especially) they can be as bespoke as the characters themselves.
My rig, however, follows a basic humanoid structure with two extra joints at the clavicle and an extra one to allow turning at the neck.

Because Screen captures are static, boring and don’t demonstrate movement well, I decided to use Quicktime and show people my successes (and failures) with video. Not only is this an easy way to record play blasts and demonstrations within Maya without having the render out a sequence, it also records work and creates concrete copies of work in progress that you can look back on and use in your portfolio.

So without further ado, here is Theo’s reverse foot lock, that I happen to be very proud of, mainly because his feet and legs are most probably my favourite part of the build. The reverse foot lock caused a few problems for me, mainly because of all the numerical values that had to be reversed on the opposite foot…. That I didn’t realise I had to do until it was too late.

The Rig testing video here was an impromptu play blast that was created for demonstrating my progress for the creative networks exhibition. Annabeth had a little play about too, so he ended up doing the robot. As a result of this test, I spotted a problem with the right shoulder.

Leave a Reply

